AboutEventsBecome A MemberResourcesGet InvolvedNewsletter Unsubscribe


This login popup box will appear when a user tries to access content that is for members only. If you are not a member yet, please register for a membership. We’d love to have you be part of our community.

  • Basic/free members will have access to a limited amount of site content.
  • Premium/paid members will have access to all site content.

All users will have to be logged in to access the content. Become a member and gain access to exclusive features.



Sign Up Today

Enter your email address below to receive our monthly e-newsletter!

Practice of the Year Award

The AfPE Practice of the Year Award is an annual award designed to honor outstanding innovations or improvements that enhance the patient experience and promote best practice development through the exchange of ideas among peers.

Submit a nomination


Definition: Patient Experience Best Practice
A technique or methodology that has proven reliably to lead to a desired result. At a minimum, a best practice should:
1.    Demonstrate evidence of success
2.    Affect patient experience
3.    Have the potential to be replicated or adapted to other settings

Entries should demonstrate:
•    Process and planning
•    A measured improvement demonstrated by data
•    An ability to be replicated or adapted
•    Innovative topic and/or creative analysis
•    Relevance to the field of patient experience



A panel of patient experience experts, which may include physicians, nurses, and administrators, will blindly review submissions.


  • One recipient will be selected as the winner and the representive presented an award at the annual Patient Experience: Empathy + Innovation Summit.
  • Profile in Association for Patient Experience newsletter and on patient-experience.org 
  • Opportunity to present a webinar




Members and non-members are encouraged to submit a nomination describing a program or research project that enhanced the patient experience at their institution. Only one winner will be selected, but nominees may submit more than one practice for consideration. New projects are welcomed, but those with measurable outcomes will be given highest priority. Submissions that focus exclusively on vendor solutions or consulting services will not be considered.


Click here to submit a nomination. Ensure you are applying for the "Practice of the Year Award" on the first page of the nomination form before you proceed.


The nomination deadline is May 1, 2017.


Email info@patient-experience.org
Phone 216.316.5787